bear

Fencewarp

Last night I had a dream about a bear. I was running with a man and my child and we were running with the bear, or from it, at times it was impossible to tell, the bear would catch up and we would be next to it. We ran into a glass building. We ran down a hall with the bear, who was enormous and black. I did not know the man but he had that look about him of a good man. In the fleeing, he became trapped against a glass door. I could not reach the man to pull him away. The bear began swiping, using its advantage to flay the man before the threshold. I will not describe the noises. I will not describe the cries of the man whom I did not know but whom I felt must be good, whom I would have loved had I known him. I do not want to remember the particular tenor of that agony and rage. I do not want to remember the feeling of what I could not do. I found an open room with glass windows and covered my child with my body.

Leave a Reply

